EC disqualifies 13 presidential candidates

The Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana has rejected the nominations of 13 presidential aspirants in the upcoming December elections. The Chairperson of the Commission, Charlotte Osei, said the affected aspirants did not meet all the required criteria in filing as presidential nominees.

Main reasons for rejecting candidates
Some of the reasons to disqualify candidates, according to the EC, include “for instance:
a. The nomination form is not properly signed by the candidate;
b. Less than two registered voters per district sign the nomination forms;
c. The nomination forms are not properly signed by all the subscribing voters;
d. The candidate or the designated vice president nominee does not meet the legal requirements of the nominated office.”

Addressing the press, the EC Chairperson highlighted the reasons for rejecting most of the presidential nominations. According to her, some subscribing voters signed the nomination forms of more than one presidential candidate using different signatures. In other nominations, some subscribers either signed in more than one district, did not properly sign the forms, or are not registered voters. In one particular nomination forms, the EC says, the vice presidential candidate “provided a date of birth of October 15, 1998,” which disqualifies the candidate according to the constitution.

The affected presidential aspirants, who are involved, are from 12 political parties and 1 independent candidate. They include Dr. Hassan Ayariga of All People’s Congress (APC), Dr. Edward Nasigri Mahama of People’s National Congress (PNC), Dr. Nana Agyenim Boateng of United Front Party (UFP), Kofi Akpaloo of Independent People’s Party (IPP), Kwabena Adjei of Reform Patriotic Democrat (RPD), Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom of Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Dr. Henry Herbert Lartey of Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP).

The rest include; Richard Nixon Tetteh of United Development Systems Party (UDSP), Mrs. Nana Konadu Agyemang-Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), Thomas Nuako Ward-Brew of Democratic People’s Party (DPP), Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), Akwasi Addai Odike of United Progressive Party (UPP) and Alfred Kwame Asiedu who is an independent candidate.

Only four presidential candidates fulfilled all the required criteria and are accepted by the EC to contest in the December elections. The four candidates include; Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo of New Patriotic Party (NPP), John Dramani Mahama of National Democratic Congress (NDC), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of Convention People’s Party (CPP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate.

Some of the affected political parties including the PPP have vowed to challenge the Electoral Commission in court.

Leave a Reply